## Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations.



### Norman Wells Memorial Open 50 Miles Time Trial Sunday 30th June 2019

A qualifying event for: SPOCO SOUTH EAST

**Course:** E21/50

Headquarters: Latchindon Village Hall

**Event Secretary:** Arthur Knowler

3 Caernarvon Close

Hockley Essex SS5 3XH

**Phone:** 01702 207076 **Mobile:** 07944 639876

Email: <u>Arthur@aknowler.co.uk</u>

Timekeepers: John Cottee

Gill Carter

IN THE INTERESTS OF YOUR OWN SAFETY, Cycling Time Trials and the event promoters strongly advise you to wear a HARD SHELL HELMET that meets an internationally accepted safety standard. All competitors under the age of 19 years on 31st December next MUST wear a properly affixed protective helmet which meets an internationally accepted safety standard. The use of a flashing rear light is also recommended.

Riders are reminded that dropping litter, (such as energy gel wrappers) is a criminal offence and offenders will be liable to disciplinary action by the District Committee.

Your attention is drawn to CTT regulations regarding competitor's clothing: Competitors must be clothed from the neck to at least mid-thigh. Sleeves shall be at least mid upper arm length. Sleeveless triathlon clothing is **NOT** acceptable. No competitor may carry advertising or the name of a commercial business on their race clothing except where they a member of a club or team that has paid the advertising fee.

Please note: I have delegated authority to enforce this rule to the Timekeepers.

#### Local Regulations applying to this course:

- **4.8.2** NO U TURNS are allowed within sight of either the start or the finishing points. Riders carrying out this dangerous maneuver are liable for disqualification from the event and further disciplinary action by the District Committee.
- **4.8.3** Body numbers are to be collected from the event headquarters and may be exchanged for a tea or coffee after your ride.
- **4.8.4** Static trainers In respect of consideration for local residents, the use of static trainers, e.g. turbo trainers, is banned from all morning events held in London East District.

#### **Notes**

Please note that the race HQ has changed this year from Steeple to Latchingdon Village hall. There is limited space for parking

The start is roughly a mile from the H.Q. so please allow plenty of time to get there.

Riders starting towards the end of the field need to be aware that early riders may be completing their first lap and passing through the start area before everyone has started. Please queue in single file at the start.

**Tillingham Village** – Riders please be aware that there will be parked vehicles, as well as several hidden entrances and exits on both sides of the road through the village centre. In the middle of the village there is a paper shop which does a roaring trade. Please be aware that the locals are not always aware of oncoming cyclists and some are not at all supportive of cycle racing. Cars may well be parked oddly and the occupants may step out erratically or in front of you. **We will have a marshal by the shop in the village centre but it remains the responsibility of riders to be aware of these hazards.** 

**Steeple Village** – Again, it is likely that there will be cars parked on the course through the village. Additionally, towards the end of the race people will be arriving for Sunday service and may be looking for parking etc. near the church.

**Photgraphy –** Paul Carpenter photography will be out and around the course taking professional photographs of riders. If you wish to view or purchase any of his work please contact him directly. Details will be on the result sheet.

#### **Course Description:**

START By manhole cover in road 40 yards West of letter box near "Huntsman and Hounds" PH, Green Lane, Althorne. Proceed east to Asheldham, where bear LEFT (M) onto B1021. Continue via Tillingham to Bradwell "Queens Head". Turn LEFT (M) and continue via Steeple and Mayland to Latchingdon Church mini-roundabout. Turn LEFT (M) onto B1018 towards Althorne, after 1.4 miles bear LEFT (M) into Green Lane to complete one circuit.

Repeat Circuit.

Then carry on again around circuit and **FINISH** East end of lay by, just east of Mayland about 100 yards east of Mayland sign.

#### Prizes:

Winner: £35 and Norman Wells Trophy for 1 year

 Second
 £20

 Third
 £15

 1st Lady (W)
 £15

 27th Rider
 £ 5 (

27<sup>th</sup> Rider £ 5 (Picked from returned dossards)

# Only one prize per rider - ALL PRIZES WILL BE PRESENTED ON THE DAY <u>List of Competitors:</u>

9	07:09		Colin	White	Colchester Rovers CC
10	07:09		Christopher	Smith	Eat Plants Not Pigs CC
11	07:10		Daniel	Sharp	Charlotteville Cycling Club
12	07:11		Harry	Moore	Cycling Club Hackney
13	07:12		Stuart	Payne	Ford CC
14	07.13	WJ	Katie-Ann	Elliston	Southend Wheelers
15	07:14	VV J	Timothy	Chilvers	Maldon & District CC
16	07:16		David	Carey	Southend Wheelers
17	07:16		Graham	Hurrell	Basildon CC
18	07.17		Jonathan		Addiscombe CC
19	07:18	W	Eva	Hemming	Redbridge CC
20	07.19	vv	lain	Carrington Boardman	•
21	07.20		Nicholas		Dulwich Paragon CC Basildon CC
			Giles	Knight Askham	Colchester Rovers CC
22 23	07:22 07:23	W			Southend Wheelers
		VV	Jan	Harvey	
24	07:24		John	Loxley Smith	Colchester Rovers CC
25	07:25		Gregory		Finsbury Park CC
26	07:26		Neal	Marrin	Finsbury Park CC
27	07:27		Antonio	Paolino	Essex Roads CC
28	07:28		James	Bromley	Becontree Wheelers CC
29	07:29	W	Jennie 	Page	Southend Wheelers
30	07:30		John	Bradbury	CC Sudbury
31	07:31		Jack	Mills	Maldon & District CC
32	07:32		Mark 	Lloyd	3T-RACING
33	07:33	W	Louise	Robinson	Essex Roads CC
34	07:34		Paul	Gribbon	East Essex Triathlon Club
35	07:34		Jim	Reed	Colchester Rovers CC
36	07:36		lan	Damant	Becontree Wheelers CC
37	07:37		Robert	Jones	Cardiff 100 Miles RCC
38	07:38		Andrew	Merchant	Southend Wheelers
39	07:39		Richard	Pimlott	Finsbury Park CC
40	07:40		Simon	Daw	Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling
41	07:41		Thomas	Platts	Aspire Velo Racing Team
42	07:42		Daniel	Salmon	Southend Wheelers
43	07:43		Matt	Haigh	Essex Roads CC
44	07:44		Colin	Edmond	Maldon & District CC
45	07:45		Richard	Mellor	Chelmer CC
46	07:46		lan	Braybrook	Basildon CC
47	07:47		Tony	Summers	Rapha Cycling Club

48	07:48	Colin	Doe	Ford CC
48	07:49	Paul	Dewberry	Colchester Rovers CC
50	07:50	Gray	Turnock	Finsbury Park CC